As predicted, Apple will be hosting a special event on Tuesday 10 November following on from its iPhone 12 event in October and the iPad and Apple Watch event in September. We’re expecting Apple to unveil the first Mac with an Apple processor and also the release date for macOS Big Sur among other news.

Apple revealed the details of the event in an invitation that was sent out on Monday 2 November.

Read on to find out what to expect at Apple’s 10 November event.

When is the Apple Event?

  • Apple event will take place on: 10 November 2020, at 10am California time/6pm UK time

It starts at 10am Pacific Time (local time, since it takes place in California) on Tuesday 10 November. Here’s what that translates to in the countries where most of our readers live:

  • UK: Tuesday 10 November at 6pm (GMT)
  • US: Tuesday 10 November October at 9am (AKDT), 10am (PDT), 11am (MDT), noon (CDT), 1pm (EDT)
  • Canada: Tuesday 10 November at 10am (PDT), 11am (MDT), noon (CDT), 1pm (EDT), 2pm (ADT)
  • India: Tuesday 10 November at 10.30pm (IST)
  • Australia: Wednesday 11 November at 1am (AWST), 2.30am (ACST), 3am (AEST)

The 10 November Apple announcement is likely to last around 1 to 2 hours. The first bit – probably between 5 and 15 minutes – will be preliminary chat, sales figures, promotional videos and so on. Then they’ll get into the serious product announcements.

What will Apple launch at the November event?

It’s certain that we will see the first of the Macs with an Apple processor. Apple announced back in June at its WWDC event that it would begin its transition from Intel processors to its own processors based on ARM and named Silicon by the company.

If you want to know more about the move to Silicon read:

For even more insight into what’s likely to launch there is Easter Egg that shows an AR animation hidden in Apple’s website.  Here’s How to see the easter egg hidden in the One More Thing event invite.

First Silicon Mac

There are lots of theories about which Mac will be the first to get a Silicon processor. It seems most likely that it will be a consumer focused Mac laptop – perhaps a Silicon-powered MacBook, but there is also a possibility that we might see a Mac mini with a Silicon processor.

Big Sur on a Mac

Big Sur

We’ve been waiting for Big Sur to to be released since Apple first discussed the new version of macOS in the summer. Apple recently released beta version 11, which suggests that the launch is imminent, and what better place to announce the download date than at an event where the company will be showcasing the Macs that will be able to take full advantage of it.

AirTag

It may not only be Mac related news at the event. The rumours about Apple’s AirTag product tracking device are hotting up. It seems that the company would have released the AirTag earlier in the year but for various reasons this was delayed. Now it appears Apple is readying it for launch.

Read more about Apple’s AirTag plans here.

Apple TV & Games Controller

We are surprised that Apple hasn’t updated the Apple TV in such a long time – the most recent model launched in 2017. Well, not only is Apple apparently ready to launch a new Apple TV, the new model could rival games consoles and come with an Apple Games Controller.

You can read more about what we anticipate from the 2020 Apple TV here.Apple Games Controller

AirPods

News that Apple was clearing out its stores of third-party audio equipment (speakers and headphones) in October seemed to be a big hint that there were some new Apple audio products coming from the company. Of course Apple then announced the new HomePod mini, but what of the AirPods that were also rumoured to launch?

A new pair of AirPods could also make an appearance. There are at least two new types of AirPods coming, apparently a cheaper version of the AirPods Pro (known as AirPods Lite) and the AirPods Studio (over ear headphones) are in the works.

Launching new AirPods before Christmas would probably be a smart move from Apple.

We also have a separate article about every new product Apple is working on.